1973 Mercedes Benz 280SEL 4.5 Projects 4


January 21, 2017

After a day off yesterday, I was back at it today. I had removed the horns when I removed the electric fan bracket. I cleaned them up today.

1-21-17-horns

As I was preparing to work on the engine bay, I removed the aftermarket cruise control that was installed back in 1977. It does not work but I have the original manual which contains the installation information. Later I will see if I can figure out why it doesn’t work. If I determine that it is not repairable, I will probably buy a new unit to replace it as I have the “restless leg syndrome” which means my legs do not long stretches on the accelerator. I have installed after market cruise controls on a few cars as well as some motorcycles.

1-21-17-cruise

I had been working on cleaning the engine bay for only a few minutes when I bumped my head on the grill for the umpteenth time!! Time to remove it. There are two bolts on each side on the bottom. The other two bolts are accessed from the front of the hood. There are two raised areas where you can insert a 8mm nut driver to remove the bolts. The grill will remain in the trunk until I am finished working on the engine bay

1-21-17-grill-31-21-17-grill-21-21-17-grill1-21-17-parts.

In the engine bay I began by cleaning the intake manifold and the firewall behind it. I wasn’t going for a concours level job and an intake is very difficult to clean when attached to the motor so I got it the best I could knowing that most of it will be covered when the air cleaner is installed. I then cleaned up the left fender area. Again, not concours ready, but cleaner than it was.

1-21-17-engine-bay-51-21-17-engine-bay-41-21-17-brake-booster1-21-17-engine-bay-2

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment