Installing the Taillight Wiring on Fiat Abarth for Flat Towing


4/14/15

The wiring kit comes with two bulb holders and a three way bulb that will function as running lights, turn signals and brake lights. The installation begins with removing both rear tail light assemblies. Easily done on the Abarth once the two screws are removed.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 8 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 7 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 6

To replace light bulbs, the sealed center sections is removed. This exposes the rear of the lens.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 5 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 4 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 3

Next is another hard to do part of this job…drilling a one inch hole in the rear of the housing. This will allow the installation of the extra bulb to work with the AI’s wiring. The biggest issue here was trying to clean out the drilling debris. I tried using a vacuum cleaner but it only worked so well. Finally I took the housing to the sink in my garage and filled it with water a number of time and then quickly poured it out. This worked well but was not a one hundred per cent solution as there are still some small pieces visible. Silicone is used to seal the bulb holder.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 2 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 13 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 11

To get the bulb wires out of the housing, I drilled a small hole in the plate I had removed. A standard four way trailer plug was then soldered to these wires as per the wiring diagram that was supplied.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 12 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 9 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 10

Next I made a pigtail that would drop down between the body of the car and the rear bumper to get the wiring to the bottom of the car. After plugging this pigtail into my bulb plug, I tucked the wiring and plugs into the recessed area on the rear of the housing.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 29 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 31

Now wanting to take apart the interior, I decided to run the wiring on the bottom of the car from the rear to the base plate. I then wired the two pigtails to each other and to the main four wire line that would power the newly installed bulbs. Critical to any wiring is making sure you have a good ground. I found a bracket near the rear of the car that had a hole that would work. I scraped away some paint and mounted it securely.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 28 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 25 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 26

Originally I was going to run the wire down the driver’s side but the exhaust complicated that idea. So it was down the passenger side with the wiring harness. I ran it across the back, found some hoses and lines to attach the harness and eventually made it to the area just ahead of the right rear wheel. The lower exterior side trim provided the bolts to mount the harness all the way to the front right wheel well. I then ran it up into and over the wheel well to the front of the car and then down to the base plate. The inner fender liner hid all of the wiring in the wheel well.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Baseplate 38 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 24 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 23 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 22 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 20 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 21 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 19 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 18 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 17 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 16 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 15

Beneath one of the hooks for the safety chain, I fastened the four prong plug. From here there will be a harness that will run from the car to the adapter for my wiring plug on the motor-home.

4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 36 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 37 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 35 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 34 4-13-15 Abarth BlueOx Wiring 33

My clean Airstream Interstate motor-home is in the storage building and it was threatening rain today so I hooked up some temporary wiring to the trailer plug on my car. The lights worked as they should so I was a very happy camper. I will make the harness to connect the car to the AI once I have the tow bar and have it hooked up to the AI. I also have to hook up the braking system for the car and plan on doing that tomorrow.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

