Porsche 912-6 Projects – 16


5/22/14

 

 

5-23-14 drew wedding 3 sm 5-23-14 drew wedding smMy wife and I drove to Asheville, NC yesterday for one of our granddaughter’s wedding. She recently became an RN and married a young man who just completed med school. He will be doing his residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN and they will be moving there in June. She was very beautiful and the small wedding was very tastefully done with the Smoky Mountains as a backdrop. BTW, the groom’s mother owns a bridal shop which helps to explain the beautiful dress.

 

 

 

 

 

5-24-14 lf suspension smI had misplaced the brake line clip for the left front suspension. It came yesterday and allowed my to finally complete the LF suspension.

 

 

 

 

 

5-24-14 axles sm 5-24-14 fuse cover smI prepped the fuse cover and the axles and then painted them.

 

 

 

 

 


5-24-14 brake caliper rear sm 5-24-14 transmission mount sm 5-24-14 starter sm 5-24-14 pilot bearing sm 5-24-14 flywheel 2 smMy rebuilt rear calipers arrived with the brake line clip. I soon had them installed.  In anticipation of installing the motor in the near future, I installed the transmission mount and the starter.   I had borrowed a flywheel lock from my son. After installing the throw out bearing, I used that lock to bolt on the flywheel. I torqued the flywheel nuts to 90NM.

 

 

 

5/25/14

 

 

 

5-25-14 clutch 4 sm 5-25-14 clutch 3 sm 5-25-14 clutch smThe clutch was first on the list today. First you have to install the throw out bearing. There are four pieces that allow you to install the bearing. By looking at the old clutch I could see that how it went together. There is a washer and spring loaded disc that go on one side with a ring held in by a snap ring on the rear. Once the throw out bearing was in, I could install the clutch and pressure plate. The nine bolts are torqued to 25NM.

 

 

 

 

 

5-25-14 clutch cable 4 sm 5-25-14 clutch cable 3 sm 5-25-14 clutch cable 2 sm 5-25-14 clutch cable 7 sm 5-25-14 clutch cable 6 sm 5-25-14 clutch cable 5 smThe clutch cable had a break in the outer housing and had been in the car for a long time. The carpet and the floorboard must be removed to allow access to the cable. There is a snap on retainer that holds the clevis onto the clutch arm. You push down on the retainer where it snaps around the cable and then pry it out of the clevis. Once it is out, you must loosen the lock nut and then unscrew the clevis and the lock nut from the cable. Once those are removed, the cable can be pulled out from rear of the car. Installation is the reverse of the removal procedure. Good to know this procedure in case one ever had a cable break. Since the old cable still worked, I will be keeping it in the trunk area as a backup.

 

 

 

 

5-25-14 engine & tranny 2 sm 5-25-14 engine & tranny 4 smWith that job done, I attached the transmission to the motor. I have a chain overhead hoist that I used to pick up the transmission. Once I had it at the right height, I slid the transmission onto the motor. Worked pretty slick and the tranny went on easily.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5-25-14 deck lid hinge smLast job for the day was to install the hinges for the deck lid. I knew this would be easier with the engine out. Tomorrow morning my son is coming over to help put the motor and transmission into the car.

 

 

 

 

5/26/14

 

My son arrived around 8:00 and was on his way home by 9:00 with the motor installed.

 

 

 

5-26-14 oil strainer 3 sm 5-26-14 oil strainer 4 sm 5-26-14 oil strainer 2 sm 5-26-14 oil strainer smAfter he left, I worked on the last oil sealing jobs on the motor. First up was replacing the gaskets on the oil strainer.

 

 

 

 

 

5-26-14 oil return tubes 2 sm5-26-14 exhaust stud smThe left side oil return tubes were leaking so I replaced them,  Two new exhaust studs replaced a couple that came out with the nut still attached when I was removing the exhaust.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5-26-14 oil line 5 sm 5-26-14 oil line 8 sm 5-26-14 oil line 7 sm 5-26-14 oil line 6 smBecause I am replacing the emissions style exhaust with a 1974 style, I had to change one of the oil lines on the motor. Previously it ran from the left side of the motor to the rear and then crossed over towards the right side. The new line goes slightly towards the front of the car and then crosses over to the right side where it is attached to the rear of the motor.

 

 

 

 

5-26-14 oil line 2 sm 5-26-14 oil line 3 sm5-26-14 oil line smBecause of the installation of the 911 motor and an aftermarket Turbotrol front oil cooler about 20 years ago, this car does not have the stock oil lines. The previous owner evidently cut off one of the ends of the an oil line and then used braided hose that was attached with two hose clamps.  With the new crossover oil line in a completely different location than before, I had to shorten the braided oil line. I needed to come off this crossover line with a right angle fitting that aimed towards the rear of the car. Taking a page from the PO, I cut off one end of the original crossover line and then fitted the shortened hose to it. Since the two hose clamps had worked for 20 years, I used the same technique to fasten the hose. I zip tied the line to existing lines and fitted a piece of rubber hose where the oil line touched the oil tank. Hopefully it holds for the next twenty years.

 

 

5/27/14

 

 

5-27-14 exhaust 4 sm 5-27-14 exhaust 3 sm 5-27-14 exhaust 2 smDue to washing the house windows and cleaning out my shed (including pressure washing the floor), I did not get anything done on the car today. However, I am leaving all of you with a teaser as I dug out the SSI’s that have been sitting in a box for the past six months. My first exhaust in a bag!!! Kind of wish I had bought stainless muffler as well after seeing the heat exchangers.

 

 

 

5/28/14

 

I have one of the so called “Smart TV’s”. My wife and I like to watch movies on Netflix but have had a problem with losing the connection and poor picture. In trying to solve that problem I have been upping my internet speed but, while it was better, I was still having issues. Yet I could go to Netflix on my computer, hook it up to the TV and I would never loose the picture. I began suspecting the Smart TV was the problem. I talked with a friend of mine who works for one of the local phone/internet providers about the issue. He said they were having this issue with their customers who were blaming them. Turns out a lot of the Smart TV’s don’t have a powerful enough Wi-Fi receiver. He recommended using a device like Google’s Chromecast or something similar.

However I discovered my TV has an ethernet jack. To test the theory of Wi-Fi reception limitations, I bought a 50′ ethernet cable and ran it through a couple rooms to my TV. After changing my settings on the TV to ethernet, I watched a complete movie last night and never had an interruption and the picture was HD quality the entire time. So this morning I ran the cable through my crawl space from our office to the LR and hooked it up. Since I did not want to drill a hole large enough to pass the connector through, I cut the cable and then spliced eight tiny wires in the crawl space. After the splicing, I hooked everything up, went to Netflix and selected a movie. I let it play during the time I was eating lunch and it worked great. Evidently I hooked up the wires correctly.

 

 

5-28-14 exhaust 2 smAfter lunch, I installed the heat exchangers with the typical problems of getting the nuts started and then getting a wrench on them to tighten them. Everything fit very well and eventually that part was done. To hold the gaskets in place, I placed a tiny amount of strip caulking on the backside, just enough to hold them in place while I got the exchangers in place.

 

 

 

 

5-28-14 exhaust 7 sm 5-28-14 exhaust 6 sm 5-28-14 exhaust 5 smWith that being done, I could install the muffler. The holes lined up pefectly and I soon had it on. When I began installing the muffler straps, there was no way the supplied bolt was long enough to start it. My solution was to use a much longer bolt and tighten the straps in place. I will let them sit for a few days to allow that strap to take a set and then try the original bolts again.

 

 

 

 

5-28-14 exhaust 4 sm 5-28-14 exhaust 3 smOnce I had the heat exchangers in place, I discovered that there were two tabs that mated to the bottom of the engine. However, there were no existing holes in the block. I drilled holes and tapped them so I could bolt the tabs to the block.

 

 

 

 

 

5-28-14 ground sm 5-28-14 speed sensor smI fastened the main ground strap to the body after wire brushing that area to make sure I get a good ground.  I installed the wiring to the back up switch and installed the speed sensor and called it a day.

 

 

 

 

 

5/29/14

 

 

5-29-14 muffler straps smOnly had a few hours to work on the car but did make some progress. As pointed out by Ed Mayo, I had incorrectly installed the muffler straps. I corrected that error today. Thanks Ed.

 

 

 

 

 

5-29-14 starter wiring smI hooked up the wires to the starter. I was really having a problem with one clip on wire as the space is limited and I was having a hard time getting my hand in there. The connector was the straight on type. After struggling with it for a long time, it finally came to me that changing the connector to a right angle type would make the job easier. I made that change and had the connector on within minutes.

 

 

 

 

5-29-14 brake pads smMy new rear brake pads arrived today and immediately presented a problem. The pad size was the same but the metal part was slightly bigger. I had to ground off a little material on each pad. I happened to have some black caliper paint which I used on the ground off areas.

 

 

 

 

 

5-29-14 heater hose sm 5-29-14 heater hose 2 smThe other items I installed were the heater hoses.

 

 

 

 

 

5/30/14

 

 

 

5-30-14 tramsmission plug sm 5-30-14 tramsmission plug 3 sm 5-30-14 tramsmission plug 2 smI removed the fill plug on the side of the transmission and filled it with Swepco 201. Filling a transmission is always a messy job and this was no exception.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5-30-14 clutch arm 6 sm 5-30-14 clutch arm 7 sm 5-30-14 clutch arm sm 5-30-14 clutch arm 5 sm 5-30-14 clutch arm 4 sm 5-30-14 clutch arm 2 smI had removed the clutch helper spring to have it refinished. Following the information in Wayne Dempsey’s book I installed the spring on the shaft. Once it is installed on the shaft you must use a pry bar to move the bar back to load the helper spring. When I did that, I discovered a problem. The spring was hard against the left heat exchanger. After marking the affected area on the heat exchanger, the spring came off, the hammer came out and friendly persuasion ensued. This exhaust system is patterned after the ’74 system while the helper spring was first used in ’77. This the interference issue. All was well after that. According to Wayne’s book, once the clutch cable is adjusted there should be 1mm clearance between the clutch arm bolt and the lower shaft arm.

 

 

 

5-30-14 half shafts sm 5-30-14 half shafts 2 smWith those jobs out of the way, another messy job waited to be done. It was time to install the half shafts. After liberally packing the hubs and the CV joints with high temperature grease, I moved the messy pieces into place so I could bolt everything in. The hard part is getting that first bolt started on each hub. Once I had all of the bolts in and finger tight, I engaged the emergency brake to lock the axles in place while I torqued the bolts to 34 ft lbs. Since there is no way to access all the bolts at one time, I torqued the bolts I could get the socket into, marked them with a silver marker, lowered the car, released the emergency brake, raised the car, rotated the hubs to expose a new set of bolts, lowered the car, engaged the emergency brake and then repeated this procedure until all of the bolts had been properly torqued. It is easy to lose track of which bolts have been torqued so marking them saves time. Nevertheless, it is a time consuming job. Next to Anti Seize, which, once the cap is removed, is soon found on every item in your garage, the high temp grease comes in a close second in making a huge mess. I spent quite a bit of time cleaning everything after this job was done.

 

 

 

5-30-14 magnet sm 5-30-14 magnet 2 smThe speed sensor relies on picking up the signal of moving magnets on the right hub to give the speedometer the proper signal. I zip tied the two magnets on the hub making sure to locate them 180 degrees from each other.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Project looks great — how do you torque bolts to Nautical Miles?

    • It takes a really, really big torque wrench!!!

      The Nm stands for Newton Meters, the metric equivalent of lbs feet.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

