Porsche 912-6 Projects – 10


2/11/14

2-10-11 valve covers smYesterday I took off the valve covers and took them and the fan housing and fan to the powdercoater. He was very reasonable on the pricing so I bead blasted all of the tin I had painted and am having him powdercoat those pieces as well. He is charging me $100 for powdercoating everything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-11-14 engine wiring harness sm 2-11-14 alternator shroud smThis morning I finished cleaning up the engine wiring harness. I also peeled off the masking tape in the alternator shroud.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-11-14 spark plugs 3 smIn anticipation of adjusting the valves, I removed the spark plugs. The plugs in cylinders two and six were loose resulting in oil on the threads.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-11-14 adjusting valves 4 sm 2-11-14 adjusting valves 8 sm 2-10-11 valve covers 3 sm 2-11-14 adjusting valves 3 sm 2-11-14 adjusting valves 2 sm2-11-14 adjusting valves 5 smTo adjust the valves I had to re-install the lower pulley. After turning it so the Z1 mark was on top and the rotor was pointing to the notch on the distributor housing, I knew I had cylinder #1 at top dead center. After I adjusted those valves I turned the pulley 120 degress to line up cylinder #2 and progressed my way around the engine. Cylinder #3 valves were the only ones I did not have to adjust. All of the remaining valves were tight. Since I did not have the fan shroud on the motor, I lined up the marks on the pulley with the center of the motor. Once I have the fan shroud back from the powdercoater, I will install it and double check my valve adjustments.

 

 

 

 

2/12/14

 

 

 

 

 

2-12-14 what is this stuffWHAT IS THIS STUFF???? Now I know why I moved south from Indiana.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-12-14 breather 3 sm 2-12-14 breather sm 2-12-14 thermostat 2 sm 2-12-14 triumvirate 2 smToday I attacked the “oily trinity”. First up was removing oil breather cover and installing a new gasket. Next was pulling out the thermostat to replace the “o” ring. And then I replaced the low oil pressure sensor. You must use either teflon tape or teflon pipe dope on this switch to make sure it does not leak.

 

 

 

 

 

2-12-14 oil cooler 5 sm 2-12-14 oil cooler 4 sm 2-12-14 oil cooler sm 2-12-14 oil cooler 3 sm 2-12-14 oil cooler 8 smThe oil cooler was the next victim. I removed it to install the three new seals. I was informed that there was a bulletin about a casting issue inside the oil cooler area. There is an indentation that is a potential leak source. It was damp inside this area on my motor. After cleaning this area thoroughly, I filled the notch with JB weld.

 

 

 

 

 

2-12-14 timing chain cover 3 sm 2-12-14 timing chain cover 2 smAfter lunch, I removed the left timing chain cover. First I had to remove the oil line for the chain tensioner. As you can see in the photo, there were three studs that were long. These studs had been used to mount the air pump. I double nutted them to remove each one. Once the snow abates, I will be heading to the hardware store to get some shorter studs.

 

 

 

 

 

2-12-14 chain tensioner smIt took me awhile to clean off the old gasket. I also noticed there is an “o” ring on the chain tensioner that I had not ordered. So putting it all back together will have to wait.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2/13/14

 

 

 

 

I removed and cleaned up the right side timing chain cover. This time the gasket was stuck to the case which made it harder to remove because of the studs.

 

 

 

 

2-13-14 blower fan 4 sm 2-13-14 blower fan 3 sm 2-13-14 blower fan 2 sm 2-13-14 blower fan 6 smI disassembled the heater blower fan so I could bead blast the housings and the fan impeller to prepare them for painting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-13-14 RMS 9 sm 2-13-14 RMS 7 sm 2-13-14 RMS 5 sm 2-13-14 RMS 4 sm 2-13-14 RMS 11 sm 2-13-14 RMS 12 smNow it was time to replace the rear main seal. The seal came out fairly easily once I had it started in the notch area. I purchased the PT 234 arbor tool specifically made to replace this seal. Once you disassemble the component parts, you place the oil coated seal on the large round piece. Then you attach the other part to the end of the crank using the supplied bolts. Next you slip the round part over the end of the bolt, pot the 27mm nut on. From this point it is simply a matter of tightening the nut which evenly pushes the seal into place.

 

 

 

 

 

2/14/14

 

 

[QUOTE=merbesfield;710671]Jerry, thanks for taking the time for such detailed posts. I am learning a lot following along. Where did you learn all this mechanical stuff? Were you a mechanic at one time?[/QUOTE]

In September of 1977 I was 31 years old. Earlier that year we had sold our 1975 Corvette, the second one we had owned. And I had just sold my wife’s ’76 Camaro without her knowing it!! We were in the market for a car for my wife to drive. We were still in that period when everyone was adjusting to the rise in gas prices that had begun with the gas crisis in 1973. Our logical minds said that we should get an economy car. Being a Chevrolet guy at that time, we were looking at buying a new Chevette. However, I wanted a sports car and, being the Chevrolet guy, I was coveting another Corvette.

By this time we had two young children. My wife ruled out a Corvette as she no longer wanted the bony butt of our daughter sitting on her lap while our son was stuffed in behind the seats (Yes we used to do things like this with our children and they are both still alive!!) I was in sales for a manufactured housing company in Elkhart, Indiana. Our offices just happened to be near the local Porsche dealer. One lunchtime found me checking out the then all new 924. I had seen a couple on the road and was impressed by their looks. I had also read the reviews and while the scribes raved about their handling, they did not like their rough ride and noise levels. But…it had a back seat that would fit small kids!!!

We drove a ’77 and did not like it. However, they had a ’77 1/2 demonstrator that was not there during our visit and asked us to come back and drive it when it was available. We did that a few days later and the difference was so great that we bought it. My teacher wife drove it to school for a couple years. With the transaxle in the rear, it was very acceptable even in the snows of what turned out to be the worst Indiana winter until this current winter.

In March of ’78 we attended the South Bend Cavalcade of Wheels at Notre Dame. Lo and behold the local Porsche club had a display. I blurted out that we had a Porsche and asked what the club did. After they talked about autocrossing, track events, rallies ,etc., I asked where did I sign up for PCA. After the snow cleared a couple months later, I was doing my first autocross. And I was hooked. We were very involved as I was president a couple times, did the newsletter, put on events, autocrossed a lot and got into doing track days, my first of which was in 1979 at Grattan with the 924. And I have been a PCA member now for 36 years.

It did not take me long to realize that while I could buy the car, I did not want to pay dealer prices for service. Up to this point I had not worked on cars. I began with the basics of doing oil changes. As we became more involved with competition events (my wife drove as well), I needed to become involved with bleeding brakes, changing brake pads and, eventually, modifying the suspension. From the beginning there were always club members willing to help me. It isn’t rocket science so after someone showed me how to do something I could normally repeat it. Along the way I bought the necessary tools. I did help on a couple engine rebuilds but have never built a motor or rebuilt a tranny by myself. And those are about the only things I haven’t tackled by this time. I also became good friends with the Porsche dealer mechanic who later became the shop foreman. He and I spent many hours in my garage working on my cars. I will forever be indebted to him for what he taught me.

As time went on and I was doing more work, my wife asked me to get a lift for the sake of safety. I had a couple of scissor lifts that raised the car about four feet which was perfect for suspension and brake work. It also worked well for dropping 911 motors. I used to compete in our club concours event every spring and spent most of the winter taking apart whatever car I had to clean it, including dropping the motor. This was a great educational tool. In the mid ’90’s I bought a 1982 911 SC that had an ’89 turbo motor with a 915 transmission that had a third gear that was not working well. The history of the car showed this was a common occurrence. So my Porsche mechanic friend and I converted it to a G50 five speed. This included converting it to a hydraulic clutch, modifying the heat exchangers and a lot of other details. Later I added Big Red’s brakes and did other mods. It was by far the fastest of all of my track cars.

Since I retired a little over five years ago, my son and I have done a number of projects. I installed Vintage Air and a LS1 motor into a Pro-Touring Camaro, my son and I have installed LS motors in two of his cars, we mini-tubbed his ’69 Camaro and installed Detroit Speed’s Quadra Link rear suspension (Huge job!!), and from June of 2012 until March 2013, I did a body off restoration on a 1964 Corvette. That has been by far my biggest project to date. If you are interested in that project, I documented the entire build at: [url]http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c1-and-c2-corvettes/3077598-will-be-doing-a-body-off-on-my-64-coupe.html[/url]

Unlike many members of this forum, I did not begin wrenching when I was a teenager (although I did work on my bike when I was young!!) Maybe that is why I am not burned out at my advanced age. I usually work in the garage every day unless I don’t feel like it or I have something else to do. I am enjoying my retirement a lot!!!

2/18/14

2-18-14 valve covers sm2-18-14 torque wrench smI traveled to the powder coater to pick up the parts he had finished and to drop off some more parts. I set the fan shroud in place and then double checked my valve clearance. I then installed the new spark plugs and the freshly powder coated valve covers. The valve cover nuts are to be torqued to 5.9 ft lbs. I broke out my smallest inch pound torque wrench and set it to the marker to 72 in lbs.

 

 

 

2/19/14

 

 

 

 

 

2-19-14 fan shroud sm 2-19-14 transmission bracket 2 sm 2-18-14 fan housing 2 smI picked up the fan shroud from the painter today.  The powder coater had my transmission mount finished. I re-installed the rubber mounts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-19-14 clutch arm sm 2-19-14 painted parts smI bead blasted the clutch spring arm parts and then painted them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-19-14 painted parts 5 sm 2-19-14 painted parts 4 sm 2-19-14 blower motor smThe gold anodizing was gone from some of the parts. I found a gold paint that I used to paint these parts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2-19-14 fan housing band 4 sm 2-19-14 fan housing band 3 sm 2-19-14 fan housing band 2 sm 2-19-14 painted parts 2 sm 2-19-14 painted parts 6 smThe gold anodizing was also very pale on the fan housing band. First I had to peel of the gold sticker. This was a bear to get off. I then sanded the band and used my Dremel tool tool to get into the areas around the mounting points. I also sanded down the oil pressure switch. I masked off areas around the band and the switch and then covered the rest of the motor with plastic.

 

 

 

 

 

2/20/14

 

 

 

 

 

2-20-14 blower motor sm 2-20-14 Fan shroud band smDidn’t get much done today as my wife wanted me to find out why the grill wasn’t heating up the way it should and I washed a car to take to our local cruise-in this evening. However, I did a lot of thinking about that gold color and decided I did not like it. Since everything was still taped off, it only took a few minutes to change the color. I decided to go with the same silver paint that I had used on the clutch spring arm parts. It really goes on well and looks good. This will give me a more subdued look which is more to my liking.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

