Body Off Restoration of 1964 Corvette Coupe – Part 12


9/6/12

As usual, when doing something like this, one thing leads to another.  After removing the headlight buckets, I noticed that the headlight brackets and the front crossmember needed some attention.  Got out the sandpaper and the wire brush attachment and cleaned them up.

 

 

 

Once I had this done, I began masking the car and putting plastic on the surrounding things and over the frame.

 

 

 

 

After going over everything with Windex and then denatured alcohol, it was time to apply the primer.  Since it was late in the day, the primer gets to dry overnight.

 

 

Finished up the painting today.  After removing all of the masking and the plastic from the floor, it was time for a serious floor cleanup as I didn’t want to track overspray into the house.  My engine guy called and needed some deposit money so he could order parts.  He said some of the rocker arms were seriously worn, the rings were not good and the cam showed some wear.  Overall, he said it looked pretty normal for an old engine.  He should have it back together the week after next.

 

 

September 8 was a good and bad day.

The good part was that I was able to remove the dash.  I already had all of the interior windshield trim removed.   First thing I did was drill out the five rivets on each side.  I used a 23/64 drill bit.

 

The dash is bonded to the tunnel below the radio.  I had to use a chisel to separate it on the front and side.  This was the hardest part to do.

 

 

 

 

Next up is removing the ten 3/8 bolts at the base of the windshield.  There was silicone caulking that had to be cut to release the dash.  You then very carefully separate the dash from the rivets.  I had to do some additional drilling to release all of them.  Be very careful that you do not enlarge the holes in the fiberglass.  Once all of this is done, you only need to do some gentle tugging to pull it loose.

 

 

Now it was time to release the pads from the dash.  Unique fasteners are used to fasten the dash pad. You slip the narrow upper part in the holes, squeeze the wider bottom part which spreads the upper part to secure the dash pad.  This link shows how they work:  http://www.lbfun.com/warehouse/tech_info/interior/Dash-Pad-Clip-Install.pdf    To remove them one must insert a very narrow screw driver blade into the closed bottom part to spread it.  At this point I was glad I had removed the entire dash.  Many of these fasteners would have been very difficult to access if the dash was still in the car.  And there are many of them.  The passenger side also has two nuts that must be removed.

 

 

Overall, it was not too bad of a job.

Now came the bad part.  About 4:30 I came in to take a shower and get ready to take my wife to dinner.  I was sitting on a chair in the bathroom getting ready to put on my tennis shoes.  A cold front with rain had just passed through.  I had shorts on and wondered if it had cooled off enough to change to jeans.  I decided to go to my computer to check the weather.  I stood up suddenly, took one step to the right, stepped on one of my shoes, it slipped, I fell hard and broke my left wrist!!!  Five hours later we finally got back from the emergency room with my left arm in a cast.

I did such a good job of breaking it that I had to have surgery on September 12 .  What a bummer!!  As you may well expect, it has taken me a lot longer to write this than nornal.  My son and my neighbor will help pick up the motor and get it installed in the chassis.   A guy on the Corvette forum from this area has a dolly for the body that he will let me borrow in a few weeks.  We will mount the body on the dolly and take it to the paint guy.   I can recuperate some while he is painting the car.  Looks like it will be spring now for getting the car on the road.

2 Comments

  1. Sorry about your bad luck Jerry. Hope your wrist heals quickly. You are fortunate to have friends & family to help you with your project while you recuperate. The Vette is really looking good so far !


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

