Body Off Restoration of 1964 Corvette Coupe – Part 11


9/1/12

I had been storing quite a few things for my son while he rented a house.  Yesterday, my buddy Reese and I loaded up everything (filled his trailer) and hauled them to my son’s new (to him) house.  I spent the rest of the day helping him move.  It is a very nice house and he should be proud of it.  Most importantly, the garage is a decent 26′ deep by 32′ wide.  Ceiling height is 10’6″ which will allow him to eventually get a lift.

 

This morning I had to rearrange everything in my upper garage after Matt’s things were gone.  One of the problems with a restoration is where to put all of the new and refurbished parts.  I have them stashed in a bunch of different places.

 

 

After mowing the lawn (I hate it when such activities get in the way of car stuff!!), I prepped the motor for the rear blower and the battery brackets followed by painting them.

 

 

 

 

 

Began the day with installing the battery box on the frame.  Since the fuel line runs beneath it, I cut a piece of hose and slid it over the metal line to keep it from rubbing on the frame and the battery box.

 

 

Now it was time to clean the engine bay.  My wife has a steam cleaner that she uses to do our tile floors and I thought this might work to get rid of the grease.  However, she was reluctant to have me get her steam cleaner all dirty so we went to Harbor Freight yesterday where I bought a McCulloch model.  It came with a variety of tools and adapters.  It did surely help with removing some of the grease but brake cleaner really did the job.  About a month ago, I noticed that AutoZone had Gunk brake cleaner on sale and I bought ten cans.  Used nine of them today!!

 

 

To say the least, I was very pleased with what I accomplished today.  I was not looking forward to this but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  I have some fine tuning to get it ready for paint.  Which brings up a question.

 

 

I had removed the holder for the windshield washer tank bracket yesterday because it looked pretty nasty.  After looking it over today and checking on the price for a new one, I decided to not spend any more time on it.  I had also noticed yesterday that the bracket for the expansion tank had one bolt broke off in it which explained why the tank was only held on with one strap.  My plan was to drill it out.  However, today I realized that I could not get my drill to it as the bolt was under the fender.  I ground off the rivets and removed it as well.  When I tried to remove the broken bolt, the welded nut broke off from the bracket.  It was also pretty rusty and a new one was only $11 (Seems to be a lot of these “only’s during this project) so I will replace it as well.

 

 

 

On the left side of the firewall a piece of fiberglass had separated from the main firewall.  I used some construction adhesive and repaired it.  I installed a brace to keep pressure on it while the glue dries.  Tomorrow I will sand of the glue residue and, hopefully, paint the engine bay.  I did have time to tape off all of the holes on the firewall and in the wheelwells.

 

 

 

Since I couldn’t paint, I removed the headlight buckets and the two struts that stabilize the nose to the radiator.  I will be ordering a rebuild kit for the headlights.  One of the headlight motors looked fairly new while the other one looks like it has been there a long time.  Have to decide what to do there.  The headlights were working so I will probably clean it up and use it.  Now that I understand how the motors are removed, it will help it it ever fails.     Once you have removed the motor, the headlight buckets easily rotate which is necessary to reach the six bolts that retain it.  I did discover that you have to remove the micro switch as it restricts the movement enough so that you cannot get to the last bolt.   I also had time to bead blast and paint the support rods and the headlight motor brackets.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

