Body Off Restoration of 1964 Corvette Coupe – Part 8


Fired up the bead blaster on the bellhousing.  As before, I can only blast for short periods so I began taking lots of photos of the wiring in the engine bay and at the rear of the car.

 

 

 

 

In between blasting, I begain taking out the wiring harness in the engine bay.  Soon it was lying on the floor.  By this time I had finished with the bellhousing and moved on to blasting the power steering pump after I had sealed off all openings.   During rest periods for the compressor, I removed the hood hinges and the support rod as well as dismantled the headlights.  Now I have more things to blast.

 

Beautiful weather this evening for our weekly cruise-in and we had a great turnout.  Only one Corvette showed up, a ’73 convertible.  Had a number of nice cars there and spent lots of time talking with my car buddies.  Good way to end the day.

 

 

Went to Tractor Supply to get some weed killer and ended up buying an Ingersoll Rand compressor.  One of the guys who worked there and his buddy deliver the compressors for a fee.  Since we are talking about 600lbs here, having someone deliver it sounded like a good idea.  I spent Saturday morning buying the wiring and fittings while making room for it.  They delivered it this morning.  The shorter guy in the bed is very strong as we layed that compressor back and he held on to it until we could get it lowered to the ground.  When I had the garage built a few years ago, I had 220 run to the place I pictured a large compressor would be.  Wired it up and it was ready to go.

 

 

On Saturday afternoon, I prepped the power steering pump for paint and gave it a coat or two.  I also installed the filler neck on the gas tank.

 

 

 

This morning I used chrome polish to make the headlight rings look like new.  Gave the new compressor a workout today as I blasted a bunch of parts.  Before I take anything else off the car, I needed to work on these parts so I can get them painted and put away until I need them.  First off I bead blasted the headlight retainer cups, the PS pulley, the hood hinges and the hood support rod.  Later I painted them and hung them to dry.  I also painted the silver part on the power steering pump.

 

 

Who says you don’t have to deal with rust on a Vette!!  The rear of the headlight surrounds had some rust issues.  After blasting them, I sprayed a coat of primer to keep them from rusting again before my body shop guy paints them.

 

 

Spent part of the day trying to get my laptop to work.  Finally gave up and took it to the computer guy.  I suspect my hard drive has given up the ghost.

 

 

Took some parts off from the firewall.  I removed the master cylinder, the vacuum booster, the hood latches, the accelerator rod, and parts of the steering column.  I now had a new batch of parts to restore.   I also took the nuts off the heater box.

 

 

 

 

Both the heater box and the windshield wiper motor need to be accessed from the inside so it was time to begin taking things apart there.  I decided to start with the glove box door which ended my day of working.  I latched the door and as I removed the last screw, the door unlatched itself and bonked me so hard of the side of my head that I had a small cut and one of my lenses was knocked out of my glasses.  I couldn’t get the lens back in so I ended the day at the eye doctor as I am pretty much useless without my glasses.  Those who work on modern cars will find it hard to believe a glove box door could do this much damage.  It must weigh at least five pounds.  Not some dinky piece of plastic here.

2 Comments

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a
    lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few pics to
    drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this
    is excellent blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

