Body Off Restoration of 1964 Corvette Coupe – Part 6


Finished off restoring the console first thing this morning.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now it was time to work on the front suspension.  After installing the hubs, I mounted the rotors and calipers.  Had a heck of a time getting the pads in as the pistons would not collapse all the way.   I then finished bolting together the steering components.  I had installed new Koni shocks not long after getting the car so they are fresh.

 

 

 

I have to bead blast the sway bar brackets and paint them so that installation will be on another day.  For the finishing touch, I bolted on the new Torque Thrust wheels.  Included below is on artsy-fartsy image.

 

 

 

 

To make “1snake” happy, I ordered a wiring harness today.  I am sure he will sleep better now!!

 

I worked on the rear suspension today.  First I installed the struts and the shocks.  I used my bead blaster to clean up the outer mount for the strut and shock.   Once I had that done, I had to figure out how to raise the leaf spring so I could attach it to the trailing arm.  I could not use a jack as I would lift the frame off the jack stands.  After thinking about it for a bit, I decided to use a ratched strap.  I hooked it to the top of the frame, placed the strap under the spring and then hooked on at the crossmember at the top.  This worked very well and was one of the easiest things I did today.  Since I installed a new spring, I am using the long attaching bolts so I will have quite a bit of adjustment for ride height.

 

 

Next up was installing the half shafts.  I am sure I ordered new u bolts for the half shafts but I could not find them.  I bead blasted the old ones which were still in good shape.  My bead blaster was leaking sand from the door so installed a new seal on it.

 

 

 

In February I bought a 1995 Porsche 968 with a LT1 motor from a ’94 Vette.  I did quite a bit of fixing up including a new clutch, installed a used torque tube, and did quite a bit of interior work including replacing the very cracked dash.  I sold it to a local guy who regularly comes to our cruise in’s.   It was back for warranty work (long story).  As I was moving it around, I noticed the hat he had in the car.  Tomorrow, after fixing the 968, I plan on installing the rear brakes and the gas tank.

 

 

Got the rear disc brakes on before I had to do the warranty work on the 968.  I had struggled with getting the front pads on as the pistons would not stay retracted.  The rubber seal was pushing the pistons out.  By using a skinny screwdriver, I was able to get them on.  However, there was no room to use the screwdriver technique on the rears.  I finally came up with the idea of using a thin sheet of aluminum.  I slid the aluminum in front of the pistons and then pushed against the aluminum with the pads.  Voila, it worked like a charm.  I now have this aluminum piece in my “specialty tools’ drawer.

 

 

I couldn’t stand the door being dirty any longer.  So I lowered the frame to the ground and rolled it and a bunch of other items into the driveway.  Scubbed the floor and put everything back.  Knocked off early so I can go to our cruise-in this evening.  In fact, I will heading there as soon as I post this.  Had to do other things this morning so only had a few hours this afternoon to work.  I installed the insulating pads on the gas tank where the tank rests on the frame.

 

 

Fired up the bead blaster on the sway bar and power steering pump mounts.  I could use a larger compressor so I blasted for awhile, cleaned up and painted the parts that were freshly blasted.  By the time I had them painted, I had pressure again and the compressor had a chance to cool down.   In a day or so the paint on the sway bar brackets should be hard and I can mount the sway bar to complete the front suspension.

 

3 Comments

  1. Are you using a 5 speed tranny? I noticed the pattern on your console.

  2. I have a Tremec TKO500 to go back in. .68 overdrive and a lower first gear. Should make it a better driver.

  3. Hello, its fastidious post on the topic of media print, we all be aware of media is a
    great source of data.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

