June 7th in Du Quoin, Il.


Some slight issues caused us to leave Springfield late.  We took some remote backroads and had an opportunity to open up the Boxster a bit.  The lunch break was at the Mid America Motorworks in Effingham, Il.  This company began providing Corvette parts back in the 80’s and branched out into VW Bug parts later.  They have a museum with both Corvettes and VW’s.  It was quite interesting.  There were photo ops for the participants in front of a vintage gas station. 

Here I had some good fortune to offset my transmission problem in the Camaro.  As usual when we would meet someone new, they ask what am I driving.  This leads to the long story about Reese and Kim bringing us the Boxster to replace the Camaro including what happened with the Richmond 6 speed transmission.  Imagine my surprise when, after telling the story, the listener says he designed the Richmond 6 speed transmission.  Now retired, Tom Huber not only designed it, he still rebuilds them.  Guess where the transmission is going once it is out of the car!!!!

The Du Quoin venue was the Illinois State Fairgrounds.  This was a great venue with the art deco buildings built by WPA workers.  The cars were randomly spread out over the grounds.  There are so many cars that there is no way to see them all.  After walking around for a while, we decided to check out the cars being run on the portable dyno.  There we ran into Mitch from Texas, a guy we have been hanging out with the past few days.  Tom Huber and his friend also were there and we all visited and either celebrate or commisserated with the owners of the cars being dynoed depending on whether the HP result were favorable or not.

We are seeing a surprising number of diesel powered vintage cars and small trucks, most with at least one turbo.  One we saw at Du Quoin was a 50’s Chevrolet pickup.  It was quite well done.

Another great but tiring day.  Out hotel was 20 miles away in Carbondale, Il.  After checking in, we decided to eat at a Lone Star restaurant.  It was Dave’s birthday so, being the nice guy I am, I let the waitress know.  She said they would sing and he would get a free dessert.  Dave said he did not want them to make a big deal out of it and the waitress replied that he should not have said that as she would now bring all the help to sing, including the cooks.  Which she did!!   It was great fun.  Happy Birthday Dave!!!!

I have posted more photos under the 2010 Power Tour tab.  The latest photos will always be at the bottom, so scroll on down there to see the latest pics.

3 Comments

  1. Way to Jerry,
    Mybe he will fix the trans and you can get a spair ! Now Dav how old are you did you join the group of over the hill gear heads ? Sow should I cal you Lucky Jerry or
    Lucky lucky Jerry
    I have been buying sheet metal for my 1958 VW RAGTOP from Mid America Motorworks.
    Later Grover

    • Dave is 64, about three weeks younger than me. That makes me much wiser than him. Not smarter, but wiser as wisdom comes with age!! We discussed getting a license plate frame made that along the top said “WE ARE 64” and then at the bottom said “WHERE IS THE BATHROOM??”

  2. Hi Jerry and Dav,
    Yes, do you guys have a jerry can or two with you! I don’t keep a cooler of drinks along with me on long trips anymore. I do not like to stop when I’m driving untill I neet to stop for gas.
    I remember when I tool Cindy with me to the parade in Travers City, She was PG with Jeff. We stoped all the time for a potty, now we stop for me ! Riddle and Dan Willams have a club “Bulkey Boy Racing” but they don’t race any more just bench race.

    Keep Driving and Driving ! Grover


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

